When pride comes, then comes disgrace,

But with the humble is wisdom.

Proverbs 11: 2

 

This is not intended to be a comment on the political climate of our world, but it probably could be. There is enough pride and ego afoot on the campaign trail to fill a thousand hot air balloons with wind left over to propel them along. Yet, before I start pointing at others and calling out their weakness, I should look at myself and ask God to reveal my own arrogance, ego, and pride. It seems that this is one of those areas in life where there can be a very fine line between what is healthy and good and that which damages relationships and leads to self-absorbed and harmful thinking.

 

It is often very difficult to accurately assess my own thinking and actions. I may believe that I am functioning out of a foundation of truth and conviction when, in fact, it is my pride that is speaking. Because it is difficult to look upon myself and honestly perceive my motives and the impact of what I am doing, I need God’s wisdom and revelation to show me the truth about myself. This truth comes by way of several sources. God’s Word is a story of humility and engagement. In it I find described in vivid detail the way that the Lord desires that I would think and act. Through it, in prayer and meditation, I am counseled, directed, and encouraged by the Holy Spirit. God literally speaks to my heart and transforms the thought processes that lead to my actions in daily life.

 

Even with the eternal counsel of God’s Word and the Holy Spirit, I require more in order to live in the fullness of God’s design and intent. As God is relational, so are people. God counsels us to follow Him in the context of fellowship with others who also know Him. When it comes to receiving honest input into the righteousness of my actions and the holiness of my thinking, no one is better qualified to provide such input than people who know and follow Christ and with whom I am in regular worshipful fellowship. Pride is dangerous, yet confidence is essential for living boldly in this world; so, Christ leads His people into the essential balance between the these two often competing human characteristics.