Bless the Lord, O my soul; and all that is within me, bless His holy name.

Psalm 103: 1

 

This is a prayer; and it is a wish, a hopeful desire of the heart. It is also a focus statement that could be set forth every day. Consider the possibilities that open up if you set your heart and your mind on blessing the Lord through everything that you do during the day. Also, think of what your own life could be like if you truly sought out the Lord’s view of the people that you will encounter so that you could respond to them with Christ’s love and grace.

 

From the vantage point of a blesser, old annoyances and long-standing problem people can seem different. The creaking floorboard is still there, the difficult coworker is just the same, and the hard to live with habits of your loved one haven’t gone away overnight. However, it can become possible to look beyond these issues and to see the gift that God has provided for you. That gift might be in the form of something that He has provided for you, or it might be a person to care about and to demonstrate His concern for. Seeking to be the one who brings a blessing to God through the way that I live also fills my heart with an understanding of the presence of His Spirit.

 

The Lord wants all of me. He asks me to give every aspect of my being and to use all that I have in serving Him. Yet, this all-in approach to living inside of the will of God is actually the easiest way to go, for, in fact, it takes less energy to love than it does to fight, is simpler to listen than to argue, and blessing fills me up while cursing drains me dry. Let this hopeful prayer of blessing guide the thoughts and the actions of your day; then, you can judge whether you end it with a greater sense of peace than on a day where this is not the goal.

 

