Let me hear what God the LORD will speak,

for he will speak to his people, to his saints;

but let them not turn back to folly.

Surely his salvation is near to those who fear him,

that glory may dwell in our land.

Psalm 85: 8, 9

 

Have you ever noticed how the nature of a mother’s voice changes when she is talking with her baby? The tone softens, volume decreases while clarity seems to improve, and there is a warmth present in the inflection of the words. This is the sound of soul-deep love that is being poured over the object of that God-ordained human relationship. This is the closest image that I can think of to relate to the way that God desires to speak with each of His children. So, for me, the most important thing that I can do is to listen and act upon what I hear Him say. I do not mean to say that God’s words to me are always a sweet lullaby or are intended to placate me or put me to sleep. Most of what God says is oriented to thinking, to doing, and to dwelling well in the land where He has placed me.

 

The language that God uses and especially His tone in delivering His words of life bring about a sense of peace in my heart and in my mind. In my case, unlike what happens between a mother and her baby, God’s words of truth do not put me to sleep; instead, they put my anxieties and fears to rest. The writer of this psalm knew that God did speak to His people. Although I have never heard an audible voice that I could identify as belonging to God, I know that He does speak to me. The pages of the Bible are alive with God’s expression of his character, desires, and will for the way that people will live. The Spirit does engage with me, and His voice of conscience and of guidance comes from deep within myself and out of the mouths of others as well.

 

In truth, the fullness of God’s voice is heard and understood best in the company of other people who know Him and also desire to hear Him well. That is not to say that there are not times when each of us needs to be on our own, alone with the Lord, but it is important to live life in the fellowship of faith and the company of God’s faithful people. This body of Christ oriented relational living is the best way to prevent that return to foolish thinking and actions that the writer here warns about. God speaks peace and He breaths out salvation from the sin that continues to assault us so that each of us will know our Lord well and live out His truth in a manner that speaks the glory of the Lord in our land.

 

 

