Good understanding produces favor.

Proverbs 13: 15

 

Unfortunately, I have found that developing a level of understanding that is actually good is not all that easy to do. For instance, let’s look at sessions of midnight toy building. There have been too many occasions when there were still parts left over when the project was finished, and some of those parts were too big and significant looking to label as “extra”. As regards wrong turns and frustration in trying to get somewhere on time when the directions were explained in great detail but I didn’t listen to those details; well, guilty is my plea. It would seem that I have been given far more chances to gain understanding during my life than I have taken advantage of, and my unwillingness to surrender my pride and to take the required time to listen and to study well has resulted in items that don’t work properly, time wasted, hurt feelings, lost opportunity, and damaged relationships.

 

Just as God will take all of the time that I require to help me understand everything that I need to function at a very high level in life, He also wants me to be committed to seeking the understanding that I need. In order to gain understanding of God’s truth, I need to get to know Him well; and like any relationship, it takes time and attention to get to truly know the Lord. I need to read His word in detail and keep on reading it until the details begin to reveal themselves to my mind and my heart. I need to talk with God and listen for His response; then, I need to listen as He continues to clarify and to amplify the wisdom that He is providing.

 

Yet, when I take the time to gain this sort of deep understanding, God promises me that I will receive favor. To me God’s favor is an expression of His grace, for it is not something that I can pay for or earn, and it is something that He wants to grant to me in great abundance. Favor looks and feels like a sense of peace, joy, and contentment that comes from deep inside and that has little connection to life’s circumstances. Still, favor is something that other people will notice even if they can’t define what it is that they are seeing. Favor is to be worn like an exquisite silk scarf that compliments all of my best features, and it comes to me as a present given to me by God in love and in honor of my intimate knowledge of Him.

 

