But what does it say? “The word is near you, in your mouth and in your heart” (that is, the word of faith that we proclaim); because, if you confess with your mouth that Jesus is Lord and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved.

Romans 10: 8, 9

 

Most people seem to have a hard time in accepting things that are simple, and I am right at the front of those ranks. I want to take a straightforward idea and turn it around in my mind or reform it into words that I own. It is just too hard to settle into acceptance when something important is presented in a manner that is easy to understand and is virtually painless to execute. Yet, this is how acceptance of Christ goes down for many people, and this is the way that I often fight against living in a manner that reflects full acceptance of God’s simple truth of salvation through Jesus Christ.

 

God didn’t make things complex or difficult. He set out the way to enter into His presence in this life and throughout eternity, and the Lord then provided the means for that to happen. All of the difficulty and the challenge in following along with God’s way to enter into His salvation comes from within our own hearts and minds. Yet, God is faithful to His desire to be in a close relationship with everyone. Christ’s love is strong, and it is poured out over all of humanity, even over those of us who fight against Him or who run from Him. The blood of salvation is poured out over a sinner such I am, and that blood of love binds me to my Eternal Father and He opens my heart to knowing His way of life.

 

It is this way of life, God’s righteous will portrayed in the thoughts, words, and actions of people who know Him, that is the tangible expression of our relationship with Christ. Many people struggle with acceptance of who Jesus is and of what that acceptance means for them. Most of us fight against fully embracing what living in the reality of this relationship with Christ requires of us. I know this from my own experience, for I have waged some mighty contests of will with Christ. I still attempt to go toe-to-toe with my Lord over issues of attitude, surrender, and grace for others. I am continually amazed at how much grace God has for me and at how futile this fighting against His will actually is. At the end of each and every one of these struggles with God, I learn that He was always right and that Christ still loves me regardless of how stubborn I might have been.

