Then Pilot said to him, “So you are a king?” Jesus answered, “You say that I am a king. For this purpose   I was born and for this purpose I have come into the world—to bear witness to the truth. Everyone who is of the truth listens to my voice.”

John 19: 37

 

So, in order to be clear, I want to share a couple of personal facts. I am not Jesus, and no one needs to listen to what I say because I don’t speak the truth of eternity with each and every word that I breathe. Yet, there is something striking about these words that my Lord said that is truly personal in its nature. In this moment on that wild and turbulent day when human anger would collide with God’s love and grace, Jesus said something profound. Yes, He was King. From the beginning of all that is and beyond the end of time, Jesus is King! But what catches my eye and grabs my heart is the Lord’s statement about His voice bringing truth.

 

God spoke truth into the void at creation, and Jesus brought that truth in living human form into the discourse of the world. So, when Jesus says that He came to bear witness to the truth, He is attesting to the fact that truth is already present in creation and that He is among us in order to point our wandering hearts back to God’s desire for His people to be both followers of truth and also proclaimers of it. I have no question that my heart has wandered, and it is clear to me that it still takes excursions along those dark and dangerous streets of our world. Yet, that voice has always called out to me with a clarity that is like a church bell on a crisp fall morning. The sound I hear is that soft yet mighty voice of Christ assuring me that I have a home to return to and that the walls of that secure dwelling place are formed out of truth and framed by love and grace.

 

Although it is always good to turn back to Christ and to the peace and the comfort of His will, that is never the end of the story. Listening to Christ’s voice involves much more than just hearing. The truth that the Lord speaks demands response beyond acceptance. Christ always sends me back out into that world where danger and darkness reside. Then He speaks courage and confidence into my heart and wisdom into my mind so that I can travel those same streets that I had encountered in my wandering times. However, this journey has a redemptive purpose. Now my voice can speak out Christ’s message of restorative love and grace. On this day Jesus speaks His truth by using my voice to proclaim His heart’s words.

