My soul clings to you;

your right hand upholds me.

Psalm 63: 8

 

It is interesting to me that David, from so far back in the history of God’s relationship with humanity, seems to fully understand what it means to live as a follower of Christ. Let me explain what I mean by this. For me Christ exists in a place or at a level of my being that is far deeper than just understanding or comprehension. He is a part of who and of what I am in a manner that redefines me from the molecular structure of my body and from the total nature of my soul. It is at this very deep and essential place that my relationship with Christ is rooted. Jesus Christ is in me, and my soul holds onto Him through all days and in every way.

 

Likewise, I am assured by God’s Word and by the testimony of experience that Christ clings to me through every twist and turn of my life. He does not waiver in His commitment to me and to my purpose as His follower. This is true even when I turn away from Him or when I lose sight of Christ’s love, grace, righteousness, or calling for my life. He is there with me, and He is the one who holds me up and sets me back onto His path of service to His kingdom. All of my strength of will and of intellect are useless in these times of trial or struggle, but the overcoming strength of Christ’s grace and love surround me and lift me up so that I can stand again in the full expression of His life in me.

 

This life throws many challenging situations and troublesome days at me. There is no way that I would be able to successfully travel the journey of life that the world tries to dictate without the presence of Christ in me. He speaks truth to my heart, and He provides wisdom that my mind can rely upon to determine a righteous course to take during each of my days. All of my strength, wisdom, and courage come from Christ. He is my hope and He takes me into the glory of His purpose for my life. Christ is the real truth that I can cling to, and He is the lover of my soul who will never release His embrace of me.

