Since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us also lay aside every encumbrance, and the sin which so easily entangles us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us.

Hebrews 12: 1

 

There are too many days when I just don’t see so clearly; these are the times when the words that I keep repeating to myself are words of discouragement and doubt; these are the days that are marked by more disability than by empowerment. The crazy thing about all of this is that the negativity that becomes so all encompassing and that pervades every corner of my mind is mostly self generated; I become my own worst enemy, and Satan is simply delighted when I do this.

 

The Lord wants me to remember the fact that He has surrounded me with people who have walked through the same sort of life course as I have; their experiences are recorded in His word from its inception, and He has literally filled my world with real, skin-wearing, and honest individuals who struggle and weep, who fall down and get back up, and who give in to sin and still end the day victorious. God wants me to look outwardly and to see the lives of others so that I won’t become so inwardly focused that I can’t see and hear His glorious path for my life.

 

We are intended to go through this life in the company of others; God designed us to live in community and to be contributors to that group, also. I need to keep reminding myself that when the doubt starts to form and I begin to become oppressed and overwhelmed by life, there is a large historical and current family that I belong to, and they are with me as I travel along each and every step of today’s path; also, it is my privileged and my responsibility to join others in their journey, for together we have the strength to keep going all the way to the finish.

