The Lord is my shepherd, I shall not want.

He makes me lie down in green pastures.

He leads me beside still waters.

He restores my soul.

He leads me in paths of righteousness for His name’s sake.

Psalm 23: 1-3

 

A Shepherd:

picks up and carries when I am too tired or battered to move on

cleans the mud off of my coat and removes the thorns from my flesh

pushes me as hard as is required when i am too stubborn or fearful to just get going

gives me the inoculations that are required to protect me from the diseases that would try to ravage my soul

 

So. in Christ, i don’t need anything; thus, everything that I do have is pleasant extra, a gift for my spirit, and my daily dessert.

 

Green Pastures:

the places where I need to be, not always the ones that I would go on my own

where I find safety, security, and peace

are often found deep inside of myself

they are my most mindful of places

 

Thus, I can focus on the gifts that my God gives to me.

 

Still waters:

the safe places to go and to fill my mouth with the sweetness of life

a quietude of the spirit resides there

a surface where I can see the beauty of the child that is who God sees when He looks at me

their soft music soothes my tired heart and brings needed rest

 

Now, I can drink deeply of the Spirit of God and be filled to overflowing with Him.

 

In all of this, God is doing His restorative work in me and on my life.

He brings me from the valley of death and despair into the rest of His meadow.

This is the home that my heart has always desired and that my spirit has been trying to find forever.

 

Righteousness:

Harmonious

Creative

Love Centric

Home

